Article written

  • on 30.11.2011
  • at 11:31 AM
  • by KT

Sports Personality of the Year 2011 – Nominations

The 10-man shortlist for the BBC’s 2011 Sports personality of the Year was announced earlier this week and it proves to be exactly that.

Not a single woman made the shortlist; the first time this has happened since the nomination process was changed in 2006 to allow selected journalists and editors, including those from Zoo and Nuts (that explains a lot!), to vote.

That meant that the likes of Beth Tweddle (winner of a third successive European Championship) will have to miss out this time around.

Instead her place has been given to the likes of Amir Khan and Andy Murray, neither of which have had particularly significant title victories.

The final list does, thankfully, comprises of some great sportsmen including Ashes-winning captain Andrew Strauss & opener Alastair Cook, plus Open Championship winner Darren Clarke.

Unsurprisingly, cyclist Mark Cavendish heads the betting after a fantastic year in which he won the green jersey in the Tour de France and became world champion on the road.

Sports Personality of the Year 2011 – Nominations

  • Mark Cavendish, Cycling
  • Darren Clarke, Golf
  • Alastair Cook, Cricket
  • Luke Donald, Golf
  • Mo Farah, Athletics
  • Dai Greene, Athletics
  • Amir Khan, Boxing
  • Rory McIlroy, Golf
  • Andy Murray, Tennis
  • Andrew Strauss, Cricket

Sports Personality of the Year 2011 – Betting:

Got something to say?

* these are required fields

BigBettingBlog is powered by WordPress and FREEmium Theme.
developed by


We do not claim credit for any images featured on this site (unless explicitly stated). All visual content, videos and images, are copyright to their respectful owners. If you own rights to any of the featured images and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us (admin[at] for removal.